## Senedd Cymru / Welsh Parliament

## **Cross-Party Group on Science on STEMM**

# ANNUAL REPORT Sept 2021 – Sept 2022

#### MEMBERSHIP

Chair: David Rees MS Vice Chair: Jack Sargeant MS Vice Chair: Mark Isherwood MS Altaf Hussain MS Joel James MS Luke Fletcher MS

Secretariat: Niall Sommerville, Royal Society of Chemistry

#### **External Members:**

Cerian Angharad (Association of Science Education); Dr Robert Hoyle (Welsh Government); Dave Harwood (Institution of Mechanical Engineering); David Jones (Geological Society); Professor Ian Wells (Institute of Engineering and Technology); Professor Faron Moller (Technocamps); Wendy Sadler MBE (Science Made Simple); Professor Mike Edmunds (Royal Astronomical Society); Keith Jones (Institution of Civil Engineers); Andrew Mackenzie (The Physiological Society); Dr Rob Janes (The Open University); Prof Alan Shore (Learned Society of Wales); Prof Mike Charlton (Learned Society of Wales); Dr Geertje van Keulen, (Microbiology Society); Jenny Scott (British Council); Dr Matthew Allen (Cardiff Science Festival); Dr Dayna Mason (Royal Society of Chemistry); Glen Gilchrist (CSCJES); Helen Obee Reardon (Cardiff Uni); Leigh Jeffes; Helen Taylor (Cardiff Met Uni); Susie Rabin (Royal Society of Biology); Sarah Morse (learned Society of Wales); Maija Evans (British Council Wales); Tom Addison (Physiological Society); Rhobert Lewis (Neath Port Talbot College Group); Talib Mahdi (Cardiff University); Stephen French (IFST); Alvin Orbaek White (Swansea University); David Cunnah (UKRI InnovateUK); Eluned Parrott (Institute of Physics); George Skilling (Science and Technology Facilities Council); Richard Duffy (Institute of Physics); Katie O'Connor (Microbiology Society)

### MEETINGS

The Group met three times:

**28 September 2021** – The primary purpose of this meeting was to re-establish the CPG on STEMM following the May election, including agreeing the future topics for meetings and purpose of the group. David Rees MS was elected Chair, Jack Sargeant MS and Mark Isherwood MS were both elected Vice Chair of the CPG. Members were given the opportunity to update the group on key topics their organisations are currently focussing on.

**17 May 2022** – Science and the Senedd event, organised in conjunction with the CPG on STEMM. The 18<sup>th</sup> edition of this event was helf at the Senedd and Pierhead buildings and focussed on the topic of innovation with a range of speakers from organisations including the Welsh Government, Institute of Physics, Cardiff City Region Deal, Royal Society of Chemistry and others. The event was followed by an evening reception and exhibition from more than 20 organisations. The evening reception included speeches by all the political parties in the Senedd and heard from the Minister for Economy.

**14 June 2022** – This meeting heard from speakers Dr. Richard Hugtenburg, Associate Professor of Medical Physics, Swansea University; Prof. Richard Johnston, Materials Science and Engineering, Swansea University; and Dr. Robert Hoyle, Head of Science, Welsh Government Office for Science. The speakers covered topics including medical physics, imaging in STEM, and medical radioisotopes.

#### FINANCIAL STATEMENT

As all these meetings were held online there was no cost incurred or gifted over the period covered in this annual report.

Niall Sommerville Secretary, Cross Party Group on STEMM Royal Society of Chemistry Public Affairs Manager September 2022